Table of Contents

Categories and post-by-post guide to my writing and research into the complex relationship between art and mental health

Welcome to Create Me Free where I share all of my deep research into and musings about the complex relationship between art and mental health. While I touch on art as therapy and the benefits of creativity, I also look at the times when creativity exacerbates mental health symptoms. Moreover, I really dig into the ways that our mental health symptoms can impact our creative process, content, productivity, medium choice, and more.

I wanted to make it easier for you to find the different content that I’m sharing here, so I’ve created a Table of Contents.

This will also help you see what types of things I’m writing about so that you can choose to opt into or out of receiving different material. Learn more here about that. You can also choose to receive only a monthly digest.





Essays, Articles, Thoughts Of Mine

On Crochet/Craft as Therapy

Plus Mandalas for Marinke

In 2024, I started re-sharing the Mandalas for Marinke project from almost a decade before:

Interviews with Artists and Writers About Mental Health and Creativity

I interview contemporary artists and writers (and sometimes other people like psychologists) about their experiences, thoughts, and research into the complex relationship between art and mental health

Visual interviews

Sometimes we don’t have the words to explain something. Or we have some words but the words aren’t enough. Neurodivergence, mental and physical health challenges, etc. can sometimes limit our words. And some people just think in images. For all of those reasons, I’ve launched visual interviews - I ask the questions in words and people respond in images.

And uniquely: one from The Lizzy Co Show that was answered in music/sound art

Interviews with artists

Interviews with writers

Interviews with others

Interviews others have done of me

  • At Inner Workings, Rae Katz interviews women about chronic illness for her Lady’s Illness Library. We discuss my experiences with depression, perimenopause, how to redefine success in the face of chronic illness, and staying curious about what’s on your own next page.

  • Kathryn Vercillo on writer's block, the editing process, reading as research, and being gentle with yourself: An interview originally published by CeciliaIvy.com

  • Leon Macfayden and I discussed some of my findings from the research I’m doing into the complex relationship between art and mental health, my own lived experience with depression and what “recovery” might mean, and the role my Masters in Psychological Counseling played into all of this.

  • At Changing Lives, Wendi Gordon and I talked about my book The Artist’s Mind: why I wanted to write this book, how I chose the artists that are included, the sources used to research, what I learned that surprised me, and how writing the book impacted my own mental health and creativity.

  • Reflections on an author interview from over a decade ago and how much is still true. Kathryn Vercillo on book writing and marketing, crocheting to heal, and the advice to "Be You"

  • At Sue Clancy’s site we discussed the book as well: why I wrote a book about it instead of doing something like a podcast, and why it’s about artists instead of other careers. We also discussed the impact of war, global trauma, racism, sexism, and other aspects that intersect with individual mental health and the role art plays there. We also talk about self-care, staying inspired, and my pups.

  • At Wolf Interviews, we discuss ways that creativity can sometimes help overcome symptoms of depression but also the dangers of elevating that ideal to some magical level at the cost of wellness.

  • At RUINS, William Collen and I discuss how helping others through creating art can help the artist, how social media might have impacted some of these artists’ mental health if it existed during their lifetime, and the complicated nature of the art world/ business as it relates to an artist’s mental health.

  • The Cacao Muse did a Holiday Tour of Chocolate around Substack and paired Create Me Free with CocoTutti. I share my work, my favorite chocolate, and a fond memory.

DRESSEMBER INTERVIEWS

I participate in Dressember annually, interviewing other participants to amplify their voices as they raise awareness and funds to combat human trafficking.

  • My interview responses about it all. Here’s the “why I do it.”

  • Meet Kristen T, a military spouse raising awareness about human trafficking: "How can we better support each other through life and its struggles? How can we celebrate our small or big wins?"

  • Meet Brenda Vale, raising awareness about human trafficking. Wearing a dress daily as an act of self-care as well as a way to combat human trafficking around the globe.

  • Meet Claire Sutcliffe-Campo, taking a unique Dressember approach. Raising awareness about human trafficking concerns while raising funds for The National Deaf Children's Society.

  • Meet Library Lady Life, Disneybounding through Dressember. Raising awareness about human trafficking through Disney fashion.

  • Meet Naomi, A Teenager Making a Difference in the Battle Against Human Trafficking. "It feels amazing knowing that I, an American high school sophomore, can change lives worldwide."

  • Meet Alysa, in her 11th Year raising awareness and fighting human trafficking. "I think it's so easy to fall into a false sense of security as someone in North America that it's something that only happens in other countries, not in this country, not to people I would know."

  • Meet Kat Wesely, Exploring the Intersection of Creativity and Mental Health in the Fight Against Human Trafficking. "Every moment taken to pay attention to the world around you counts."

  • Meet Kristy Howard, Healing Out Loud in the Fight Against Human Trafficking. "I’m not alone. You’re not alone. We fight this battle together, and for those who cannot fight for themselves right now."

  • Meet Justine Drnjevic, Reminding Us for Dressember: "Our actions always have power." "The problem of human trafficking seems like an overwhelming task to tackle, but Dressember makes it accessible."

  • Meet Christy MacCallum, Honoring the Need for Self-Awareness/ Self-Care in Dressember Activism. "What matters the most (in all activism) is finding the sustainable balance between creatively participating and taking care of yourself so that you can keep participating."

  • Meet The Bearded Ladies Team! A London company making dresses in a fairtrade and sustainable way. We're a new company, making manly dresses for anyone, of any identity, who wants to wear 'em. We are wearing dresses (both our designs and others) every day in December.

  • Len Dresses Up! Emphasizing the Humanity Behind Human Trafficking. "Dressember does a really great job of humanizing the issue of human trafficking and telling victims’ stories in a way that is empowering and not further victimizing them."

  • Meet Donia Webb, an Elementary School Teacher Who Joins the Fight Against Human Trafficking. "Dressember reaches the most marginalized groups of people, like runaways, LGBTQ+ youth, children in foster care, people of color, and people suffering with mental health disorders."

  • Meet Chris, Embracing Genderfluidity to Raise Awareness in the Fight Against Human Trafficking. Dressember helped me become "me" in all the best ways. I will always be thankful to Blythe for creating this wonderful opportunity and as a result giving me the tools to explore my own gender identity

  • Meet Dixie, Pursuing Justice Through the Arts in Dressember. "The only way that we will end human trafficking is by joining hands with EVERYONE to create waves of change."

  • Meet Cyndi, Part of the Solution through Dressember. "No problem is too big to tackle. Together we can make a difference."

  • Meet Lindy, Wearing a Dress as a Poster, Chant, March, Advertisement, Loud Speaker. Dressember fights human trafficking. Did you know that "less than 1% of victims are rescued? They need urgent intervention and radical hope."

  • Meet Amy Stauter, Wearing The Same Dress Throughout Dressember to Fight Human Trafficking. Doing a small act for one month can make a big difference!

  • Guest post by Brenda Nicholson about human trafficking in the state of Michigan.

  • I also did several roundups of their poignant responses to specific questions including: What Does Dressember Mean to You?, What Does Mental Health Mean?, What Is Creativity in Activism?, How Do Art and Mental Health Intersect in Dressember?, and What Do Creativity and Mental Health Look Like For You?

Guest Posts

I’m always open to sharing guest posts that are relevant to the topic of how mental health and are intersect.


VIRTUAL BOOK TOUR INFO!!


Famous Artists and Mental Health

I do research into a variety of artists in different genres with an eye towards understanding how mental health and creativity intersected in their lives.

Georgia O’Keeffe

Others

When I’m not writing, I’m often crocheting

From The Books I'm Reading About Art and Mental Health

I read a lot of books related to art and mental health. This is where I share what I’m thinking about what I read in those pages.

Sylvia Plath

I’m having a romance with Sylvia Plath these days, so there are lots of things about her including thoughts on books she wrote, fiction books inspired by books she wrote, and books about her.

Other Books

If you re-read books do you also usually order the same thing off of a menu? This was from a conversation we had here on Substack that I found super interesting! I’m mostly not a re-reader myself and do order new things off menus.

My 2024 Substack Experience

A blunt look at what Create Me Free needed to shift since the financial realities didn’t start to match up with the creative dreams - specifically losing weekly digests, considering a milestone format. I then realized I needed to unsubscribe to 300+ substacks. Next I explored: Am I writing on Substack for income or for community and what changes if the answer changes? And then: Is Substack Really for Paid Newsletters or Is It A Writer's Social Media Site?

And More:

Housekeeping

A few posts that are about me and my writing and things around here: